BeaverLake6 Report
BeaverLake6 Report

Testimonials for BeaverLake6 Report

"BeaverLake6 Report has got to be the best media to keep the world of Industrial and Specialty Fabrics connected and well informed. I have been in this industry for 56 years and your weekly email and website are well received. Keep up the good work."

 

John Lee, MFC

Owner

J J L Events Inc.

“Quality information flow is critical to making quality business decisions. One source I rely on is the BeaverLake6 Report. It’s timely and pertinent information keeps me abreast of the latest developments in the industry.”    

 

Jim Egan

President

Graniteville Specialty Fabrics

 

“In a relatively short time, the BeaverLake6 Report has become the premier source of information regarding the Global Technical Textiles Industry. Information regarding innovation, investment, market trends and company financials are very timely and relevant to our business. In short, we have never had such focused, yet comprehensive information available in the Technical Textile Industry.”

 

Harold Hill

President  

  Glen Raven Technical Fabrics, LLC 

___________________________________________________________________ 

 

“BeaverLake6 Report is one of the ‘go-to’ websites that I use. New contributors and  innovative products are regularly featured, which to me, is the lifeblood of the industry.”

 

Ron Gottlieb  

  Director

  Ricky Richards (Sales) Pty Ltd.

___________________________________________________________________

 

I love this newsletter because it covers a range of topics. I  find the calendar of events invaluable.”

  Machell Apple

  Director of New Product

    Initiatives Contract

  True Textiles

_______________________________________________________________

 

“Thanks for your informative technical textiles reporting...great variety of end use applications and relevant industry articles!”

 

Cindy McNaul

Global Brand & Market Director

INVISTA

____________________________________________________________________ 

 

"The website regularly includes exclusive reports and interviews that highlight leaders and innovation in the industry that you don't see on other sites."

 

Jane Johnson

Manager, Government Relations

Unifi

_____________________________________________________________________

 

“One of my colleagues in China, of all places, sent me a link to your blog about 6 months ago and I must say I have been reading it through completely every time.”

 

Filips Lombaert

Market Manager, Technical Textiles

Picanol NV

_____________________________________________________________________

 

“BeaverLake6 Report has been one of the best sources of information about the emerging field of textiles. The BeaverLake6 Report provides our industry with a wealth of ideas, information, and a multitude of invaluable resources!” 

 

Kisha Moldovan

Sales Manager and Marketing Director

Capital City Awning

 ____________________________________________________________________

 

“The BeaverLake6 Report is of great interest to me. I appreciate its international flavor with good coverage of priority countries. Our knowledge on composites is completed by its extensive information on textile companies and products. The design and structure is easy and pleasant to read. I do not miss any issue.”

 

Frédérique Mutel

President & CEO

JEC Group

_____________________________________________________________________ 

 

BeaverLake6 Report is a must have resource for those that need quick, concise information on global trends and news occurring in the technical textiles industry.”

 

Bret Kelley

Director, Sales & Marketing

Highland Industries, Inc.

___________________________________________________________________

 

“I always enjoy your newsletters and always learn from them. What an invaluable, time-saving, info-filled shortcut to today’s market news and trends!”

 

Mary-Lynn Landgraf

Senior International Trade Specialist

OTEXA, US Department of Commerce

___________________________________________________________________ 

 

“I am a regular reader of the BeaverLake6 Report. Not  all stories are relevant, BUT there are some that are! Furthermore, the general knowledge that I gain from  the opportunity to explore topics is outstanding. It’s fantastic.”

 

Brendan Duffy

Managing Director

Canvasland

_____________________________________________________________________

 

“BeaverLake6 Report delivers its information to me online, assuring that I am aware of market and industry activity which often times is important to our business.”

 

Allen Barwick

Chairman of the Board

Shuford Yarns, LLC

_____________________________________________________________________

 

“BeaverLake6 Report is one of my favorite sources for industry news. It’s comprehensive and provides information and perspective that’s not available anywhere else.”

 

Chris Fredericks

President

Top Value Fabrics

 

This Advertising Spot Is Available

Do you have an event to publicize? A new product or service?

 

Contact us by clicking here and reserve this prime ad location.

Coming Events

  • March 21-25: Southwest Industrial Fabrics Association Annual Convention, Grapevine, Texas, USA
  • March 22-23: 2017 International Technical Textiles Symposium, Taipai, Taiwan
  • March 27-28: APBO 2017 -- Asia Pacific Business Outlook Conference, Los Angeles, Calif., USA
  • March 29-31: GEOSPERU 2017, Lima, Peru
  • March 29-31: ExpoProduccion, Mexico City, Mexico

Click here to view the complete technical textiles events calendar that includes show information links.

President Trump's Reveals 2017 Trade Policy Agenda

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) has released President Trump's 2017 Trade Policy Agenda. The document, officially called 2017 Trade Policy Agenda and 2016 Annual Report of the President of the United States on the Trade Agreements Program, outlines the new Administration’s four trade priorities:

  • Defending the US National Sovereignty over Trade Policy
  • Strictly Enforcing US Trade Laws
  • Using Leverage to Open Foreign Markets
  • Negotiating New and Better Trade Deals

​BeaverLake6 Report has created a special page within this website and placed the first chapter of the 336-page document which summarizes the policy. Click here to read it. Posted March 2, 2017

INDEX 17 Conference Program

The INDEX™17 nonwovens exposition taking place in Geneva, Switzerland, April 4-7, 2017 will have an extensive series of conference tracks featuring the leading authorities in 5 areas:

• Geosynthetics/Sustainable Products

• Healthcare

• Air Filtration

• Personal Care

• Automotive Interiors

BeaverLake6 Report has created a special page and posted descriptions of the these topics as well as the speaker list. Click here to view. Posted March 7, 2017

What's Going on in Nonwovens?

Dave Rousse, INDA

BeaverLake6 Report is very pleased to continue its series of reports on specific market segments within the technical textiles industry with a special "state-of-the-industry" look at the nonwovens industry. The report is authored by Dave Rousse, president of INDA, the international nonwovens association. Mr. Rousse looks at market drivers and new emerging markets.  Click here to read the article.

What's the NCTO Game Plan for the Post-TPP Era?

Back on March 24, 2016, I was one of the first to predict the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement was a dead deal. In fact, I said that I wouldn’t be surprised that, if Donald Trump became President, the agreement is shredded on day one of his new administration. Well, I was off by three days. Yesterday, President Trump signed an Executive Order, officially withdrawing the United States from the TPP agreement. Now the question is can the National Council of Textile Organizations put together a comprehensive plan for the domestic textile industry in a post-TPP era? Click here to read the rest. Posted January 25, 2017

 

 

 

 

New FR Cellulose Fiber Developed in China

 

China accounts for more than half of the world's fiber processing capacity but still is following hehind some other countries in many high-tech breakthroughs in the technical textile applications. This new article, presented exclusively for the BeaverLake6 Report website by China Textile magazine, offers a look at the new flame-resistant and anti-bacterial fiber developed by Beijing SOL Flame-Retardant Fiber Limited. Click here to read the article. Posted January 18, 2017

Steady Growth Prospects for Expanding Specialty Geosynthetics

There are literally dozens of market reports for the many market sections and subsections within the technical textiles industry. In 2017, BeaverLake6 Report will be introducing a few of these reports to our viewers. The first report being features is The Future of Spcialty Geosynthetics to 2021. It was developed by Smithers Apex, a market research firm based in the United Kingdom. 

 

In exchange for the promotion, Smithers Apex agreed to write an exclusive expanded executive summary of the market report for our readers. Click here to view the market summary. Posted January 9, 2017

Managing in Times of Political Uncertainy

Bud Weisbart

Small business owner and BeaverLake6 Report columnist Bud Weisbart writes about the business uncertainty which may come with the political uncertainty following the election of businessman Donald Trump as President of the United States. Click here to read his new column.

2016 China Textile Innovation Conference Explores the Roads to a Textile Power

Sun Ruizhe

2016 China Textile Innovation Conference, as an annual summit of industry innovation, was held in Beijing on December 12th, 2016. The conference, themed on “New Opportunity, New Advantages, New Vitality” – Stepping Towards a Textile Power, comprehensively summarized the industry innovation achievements and explored the new advantages in development in order to grasp the strategic opportunity of the new round of industrial changes. BeaverLake6 Report is pleased to present a report on the conference via our partnership with China Textile magazine. Please click here. Posted December 21, 2016

Coleman Escalates FTZ Dispute with the Textile Industry. In a letter to Mr. Gene Dodaro, Controller General of the US General Accountability Office, five US senators and one congressman have requested the GAO to investigate how the Foreign-Trade Zones Board evaluates applications, ensuring a fair and transparent manner, as required by law. In conducting an examination.

 

In an August 22 letter, the Congressional leaders ask that Mr. Dodaro assess the process for reviewing applications that involve the import of textile products for use in a manufacturing process. Further, they asked the GAO to assess the FTZ Board's procedures for determining whether an application meets the tests for "threshold factors" and "economic factors" described in the Foreign-Trade Zones Act's implementing regulations.

 

While the letter does not specifically state the Coleman situation, all of the senators and congressman are from states with Coleman operations in the Midwest. A ruling was expected in August on the Coleman request for additional Production Authority allowing them to bring in textiles at a lower duty rate. [See the complete BeaverLake6 Report editorial for background information by clicking here.]

 

This call for a GAO investigation may delay the decison on Coleman's request for additional Production Authority for up to a year. Our thanks to industry trade expert David Trumbull for alerting us to this letter and his excellent coverage on his Textiles and Trade website which has more details. Posted September 29, 2016

Jon Klein's Outlook

Sports Footwear

The global sports footwear market is witnessing positive growth, mainly driven by the consumer demand for customized performance and comfort in sports footwear. Read the latest column about the research and trends by Jon Klein, Business Development Leader at PrimaLoft® Aerogel insulation. Click here.

 

In My Opinion

Re-Shoring: Good for the Goose is Not Good for the Gander?

Domestic PFD Manufacturer's Application for FTZ Additional Production Authority Riles Textile Industry Trade Associations. There is a nasty fight taking place these past few months behind the closed doors of Room 48019 at the Herbert C. Hoover Building in Washington, D.C. The room is the office of the Foreign-Trade Zones Board. The fight pits domestic technical textile industry suppliers and a coalition of textile-trade associations against a fairly large domestic end-product cut-and-sew manufacturer. Click here to read the story.

 

Steve Warner

Publisher

Fiber Composite Growth (2016-2020), Part 2

BeaverLake6 Report is pleased to present "Fiber Composites Growth, Part 2", a new contribution from our partnership with China Textile magazine. The authors are China Textile's Zhao Hong, Editor-in-Chief, and Flora Zhao, the Director of the Editorial Department. Mr. Zhao is also the Director of International Trade Office of the China National Textile and Apparel Council, (CNTAC) and Vice President of the China Knitting Industry Association (CKIA). In Part 2, the focus of the article is on international trade and the development of fiber-reinforced composites. Click here to read. Posted July 12, 2016

Jon Klein's Outlook 

I am pleased to announce BeaverLake6 Report has added a new column called "Jon Klein's Outlook." Jon Klein is the Business Development Leader at PrimaLoft® Aerogel insulation. With over 20 years in the industry, Mr. Klein has extensive experience in the textiles, apparel and footwear industry. Mr. Klein is a frequent contributor of short articles on LinkedIn, the world's largest business network, writing about the various market segments of the technical textiles. This column covers his LinkedIn postings. Please click here to go to his column. 

 

Steve Warner, Publisher

June 27, 2016

US International Trade Administration Publishes New Top Market Report for Technical Textiles

One essential document BeaverLake6 Report recommends if you are going to be exporting your products is the 2016 Technical Textiles Top Markets Report, produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce's International Trade Administration (ITA).

 

The 59-page 2016 edition is now available online and forecasts global demand for U.S. technical textile products to increase 4% annually through 2017, from $8.6bn in 2015 to $9.3bn in 2017. Innovation and new technology coupled with trade relationships developed under existing and future free trade agreements will drive this increase in demand.

 

Top Markets Report examines historical data from 2008 through 2015 plus forecasts demand for 2016 and 2017, and ranks 70 markets for overall technical textile exports. This study of the U.S. technical textiles market is intended to provide an analysis of the competitive landscape, including developing trends and key regions where U.S. producers could find new and continued opportunities for their products.

 

Click here to go to the website to view the report. Posted May 25, 2016

Fiber Composites Growth (2016-2020)

We are pleased to present a new contribution in the China Textile section of the website. This article starts a multi-part series Fiber Composites Growth  (2016-2020). The authors are Zhao Hong, Editor-in-Chief, and Flora Zhao, the Director of the Editorial Department of China Textile magazine. In addition to his role at China Textile, Mr. Zhao is also the Director of International Trade Office of the China National Textile and Apparel Council, a national confederation of all textile-related industries, and the Vice President of the China Knitting Industry Association. Click here to read the article. Posted May 16, 2016

 

Steve Warner, Publisher

Industry Market Report Available.  What impact has the sale of decline of military products purchases have on government shelter fabricators? What is the outlook on textiles going into the automotive industry? What are three issues that can negatively impact the growth of the protective clothing market segment?

 

You can find the answers to all these questions in the 2016 State of the U.S. Technical Textiles Industry report published in Textile World magazine. Part One of the report is in the March/April issue and Part Two will be in the May/June issue.

Click here to go to the report on the Textile World website.

Media Partners

The Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement is a Dead Deal

OK, I am going to say what the National Council of Textile Organizations is reluctant to concede: There is not a chance in the world for the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement to pass in the US Congress next year. It is a dead deal. There is still a lot of wasted energy in justifying support for a trade agreement that is going nowhere. Click here to read the rest.

 

Steve Warner

Publisher

Posted March 24, 2016

In My Opinion

Warner's Eleven Things That Mattered for Our Industry in 2015

In 2015, I posted more than 425 items of interest for our industry on the BeaverLake6 Report website. In reviewing it all last week, it got me to thinking about putting together a list of influential events, news and trends that I observed during the past year. I have focused primarily on the US marketplace but each of “the things that mattered” to me has global implications.

 

So, here go my thoughts in no particular order of importance. Let me know if you agree or if I have missed some. Click here to read the list.

 

Steve Warner

Publisher

Posted January 17, 2016

JEC Event Pages Now Available

We are pleased to now offer a special Sponsored page for the JEC Group. JEC is the largest composites industry organization in the world with a network of 250,000 professionals. JEC represents, promotes and expands composites markets by providing global or local networking and information services

 

With their new Sponsored page on BeaverLake6 Report, JEC will be featuring their three major events -- JEC Asia 2016, JEC World 2016 and JEC Americas 2016. Click here to go immediately to the JEC home page. Make sure to come back often to these pages for the most up-to-date information on the events.

NCTO was Wrong to Support TPA and TPP So Early in the Game

I don’t get the logic behind the National Council of Textile Organizations' (NCTO) support of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement. In my opinion, NCTO’s primary desire for supporting TPP is the textile economic containment of China. This approach will fail with TPP and may end up putting the US domestic industry at future risk with other trade agreements ... Click here to read the rest of the column. 

Steve Warner

Publisher

Posted August 4, 2015

“BeaverLake6 Report is one of the ‘go-to’ websites that I use. New contributors and  innovative products are regularly featured, which to me, is the lifeblood of the industry.”

 

Ron Gottlieb  

  Director

  Ricky Richards (Sales) Pty Ltd.

 

Read more testimonials by clicking here.

Do you wish to be added to our subscriber list? It's easy and it's free. Click here and write "Subscribe" in the message box.

Come back often during the week. We update BeaverLake6 Report almost every day with the latest industry information.

Beaverlake6 Group, LLC

Secretary Gary Locke, US Dept. of Commerce, and Steve Warner Commerce Secretary Gary Locke and Steve Warner

Success in our industry is all about knowledge, integrity and developing relationships. BeaverLake6 Group, LLC, publisher of BeaverLake6 Report, is a management consulting firm focused on helping businesses understand the complex global technical textiles industry.

 

Please click here to view testimonials about Steve Warner, President/CEO of BeaverLake6 Group, LLC.

Connect with Steve Warner, publisher of BeaverLake6 Report, at LinkedIn.

Connect with BeaverLake6 Report publisher Steve Warner via LinkedIn
Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© BeaverLake6 Group LLC